The First Youth Issue

The following is the literary portion of our first Youth Issue. Enjoy!

“I looked out the window and I saw…” by Christina Cherkis

I looked out the window and I saw a bushy-tailed squirrel. I continued to watch the squirrel because he seemed to be running around without a purpose. Soon I found out he did have a purpose. That purpose was gathering walnuts from my neighbor’s tree for food for the winter. The squirrel ran all around my backyard on the alert for some animals or enemies to take his precious stash. He soon buried the nuts to be found later in the winter when needed.

After a while, I noticed other squirrels visiting the neighbor’s tree. It
reminded me of grocery stores and people shopping. The squirrels ran up and down the tree just like people run up and down the aisles looking for their
groceries especially during the holidays and a forecast of bad weather.
The squirrels were hurrying to prepare for winter.

I wondered what else the squirrels do to prepare for winter. How do the squirrels remember where they hide their food? Where do they live? How do they survive the winter? You never know what you will see and the questions that may come up when you look out the window.

***

Untitled
by Anissah Baht-Tom

It’s funny how the little things
Can simply be fascinating
From skies of blue
To ants on the ground
A child’s laugh
Every smile
Every frown
The morning sun’s graceful hello
And the full moon’s angelic glow
Oh, how I love to watch the little things
With their special brand of enlightening
It’s funny how the little things
Can simply be fascinating.

***
Who’s There
by Kristen Cunningham

As I walk through the room
Made of glass
I feel like someone is following me But
Everything is silent
It was only a
Dream

***

Untitled
by Bizzy-B

Listen students you all are aware of the rules. You don’t like it tell it to the Principal of the school. Summer vacation don’t start till June. Until then stop dreaming about the sand dune. If you and somebody decide to get in a tussle, just think school is for your brain, not your muscle. She likes kids who always use their manners, and always remember the Star Spangled Banner. When you’re in class don’t worry what time is on the clock. You’ll be out of here when the hands are on the dot. Listen kids there’s no time to play tag. Just turn around and say, “I pledge allegiance to the flag”. Don’t cause the Principal any frustration cause you’re just here in school to get an education. You’re not alone. Everybody has to do it across the nation. In class don’t even eat your brunch. You hungry? Just save it for lunch. You’re a classroom you’re all in one bunch. If there’s an argument don’t use a kick or punch.

***

Everlasting Days
by Larissa Stucker

Building sandcastles until our
Fingers turn to prune,
Singing songs when we
Know we’re out of tune

Running in the rain
Even though my mom will yell,
Sharing our deepest, darkest secrets
That we thought we’d never tell

There is nothing we can say
That we won’t understand
We do everything spontaneously,
Nothing ever planned

I find it hard to believe
That you won’t be around
Just remember you’re my friend
A friend that I have found.

***

Walking
by Cassidy Lupico

I walk along the street
the tall lamps reflecting off
the wet road

I keep my head down
I don’t want to be noticed

I think of you
I don’t know why, but I do

Why would I want to?
The pain you have caused me

I’m lost for a moment,
Lost in thought

I shake it off
I keep on walking

***

Help Me! (By Tom Goblet)
by Laurel Nestor

I’m Tom Goblet. I am a turkey. Please don’t eat me. I’m going to ask you not to eat me. I say this because I’m better off in a meadow. My whole chest is a copper plate. And finally, I have mold growing in me.
First, I’d do much better in a meadow. You think killing animals is wrong? Trust me that boat goes both ways. There is a new thing called a tofurky. It doesn’t hurt me. Plus you get a good and tasty meal. Plus it saves the time plucking and taking off my feathers and taking out my organs. It’s the right thing to do.
Second, I’ve got a copper plate in my chest. When I was a kid, I was hit by a car. Putting in the plate was the only way to save me. Plus I’ve got no meat in my chest. I can’t eat spicy food, and I don’t breathe in my sleep.

Finally, I have mold in me. I was on a plane to Berlin, and the plane crashed. I ate moldy food for a month. Because of the mold, I now have mold in my lungs, asthma, cardiovascular disease, and acid reflux. I’m not fit to eat anyway. I hope I’ve persuaded you not to eat me because I have mold in my lungs, I’m too much work, and I’m not fit to be eaten by you.

***

A Fairy Tail by Ike
by Jeremy Klapat

Once upon a time there was a beautiful Princess, a very dumb villager, a village, and an evil demon. The villager named Steven, JD and stuff, he was very dumb, saw a beautiful Princess, named Alee, crying. Steven asked her why she was crying. She said that her brother Prince Trevor was captured by an evil demon. Steven told princess Alee that his fish’s will to dance on land was taken away by the evil demon also. Right then, Steven pulled out a large bass he caught from the river and threw it to the ground and yelled, “Why did you stop dancing, fishy?”
He paused for a moment listening for an answer from the dead fish. He then went on to say, “It’s ok, fishy. I will get your will back from the demon, you’ll see.”
Alee and Steven went into the village to look for clues. When they went into the village they met a two-headed witch named Coblestoneonlivingroomfloor. The witch was once two witches, but when they married, they joined together. Coblestoneonlivingroomfloor told them that they saw the evil demon named Sammy entering the Forest of the Evil Demon Sammy. The princess Alee told Steven that they should have looked there first.
Steven said back at her, “But what about Fishy?”
Princess Alee and Steven went into the forest and walked the trail for two days where they found a hot spring with a very evil-looking castle next to it. Alee and Steven went to the hot spring and found the evil demon chillin’ in a lounge chair next to the hot spring. Alee and Steven looked at the castle and saw it was only a cardboard cut-out so that people wouldn’t go into the forest and find the hot spring.
They then captured the evil demon Sammy and removed his hood. The evil demon wasn’t a demon at all. It ended up only being Prince Trevor in a black robe with goat horns taped onto his forehead.
Princess Alee said, “Why did you do all this?”
Prince Trevor replied, “I found a hot spring, and I didn’t want anyone to find it so I made it look as if an evil demon lived here so no one would know.”
Steven then said, “Oh my gosh….the evil demon took the form of Prince Trevor, but where is my fishy’s will to dance?”
Prince Trevor told him to throw the fishy into the lake, wait four minutes, go back and catch him, and he will dance again.
Then Princess Alee and Fairy Thomas lived happily never after all of this.

***

The Accidental Discovery
by Asher Smart

As Denzel Higgerman took a last look at the debris and ash that took the place of what used to be his house from Lilison Dock, it seemed to him as if his life had taken a big drop like a roller coaster. He looked out over a boat tied to the dock with the name Splotion painted across both its sides.

He had no sailing experience at all, though he knew he had to leave. As he stepped into it, he felt as if someone else’s presence was in it. He slowly searched for the control area. Finally when he found it, someone walked from behind him.

“Are you Mr. Higgerman?” he asked.

“Yes,” he answered, completely caught off guard.

“Welcome aboard,” the strange man greeted.
Then he took the wheel while Denzel untied the rope. In a moment the man had steered them away from the dock. Denzel noticed that the man non-stop steered the boat without saying a word. As land approached, things started to get a little bit treacherous and the sky started to get furious with angry rain clouds.

Waves started toppling over each other. Before they knew it, a gigantic whirlpool appeared in their path. Each second they drew closer to their doom. Then, suddenly, the boat plunged into the deep, dark, and dangerous whirlpool.

Gradually they opened their eyes. They figured that they ended up in a trench in the Caribbean Sea. However, the surprising thing was that they could breathe and they were underwater! When they stood up everything felt closed in. Many undiscovered creatures swam around them, but the most mysterious thing was a big structure covered with the tan sand. Their curiosity led them to go explore the hidden structure. As they drew closer their mouths opened wide in amazement and awe. They realized that they had discovered the lost city of ATLANTIS! They knew it was the city because there was a huge sign that said ATLANTIS!

The man ran towards the main Atlantis hub (the big structure). His weight caused an underwater avalanche. The building started to break down. Denzel and the man fell down on their faces. Denzel quickly got up and ran as fast as he could away from the site forgetting about the man. Soon, Denzel realized that the man was no longer with him. He waited days for him in the trench, but he finally decided that the man did not make it.

That same day, Denzel swam up to the surface of the water. A couple hours later a trading boat found him and took him in. He had suffered from hypothermia from being in the water for too long, but he survived and slowly recovered.

A year later he got married and had kids. He never told about the Atlantis discovery to any soul, not even his wife and kids.
After twenty years, Denzel thought of searching again for the lost city of Atlantis. He went to the same location where the discovery was first made. Unfortunately, there was no sign or trace of it.

Today the mystery of Atlantis remains unsolved…

***

Untitled
by Aaron Pekar

One day in the state of Kentucky there was a state park with lots of trees, but an evil cat lady put catnip in the trees to attract all the cats in the state. The cats walked through the city bothering all the citizens by eating their food, knocking plants out of windows and attacking bald people. When they finally got to the park they started scratching at the trees because of the catnip. All was well until the trees came to life for no reason and started a war with the cats. They started smacking the cats with their branches and the cats were clawing at the trees with their claws. In the end the trees were victorious and attacked the crazy cat lady for attracting the cats in the first place.

The End

***

Untitled
by Said Abdul Qayir

I walk the halls like
A ghost
I’m Casper with no
Coat I’m a nobody with no
Notes nobody cares nobody understands
Me ‘cause I’m me. Everyone thinks
They know me but they don’t know me
I smile and rhyme every time but deep down
Inside I’m cryin’ shouting for help
But no one cares ‘cause I’m me
So stop playin’ like you care for
Me ‘cause no one cares for me I’m
A nobody
Who are you
Are you a nobody, too…?

***

Haiku
by Cassidy Lupico

fish in the ocean
moving along flip-flipping
their fins they swim forth

***

An excerpt from
Atmosphere’s: Greatest Fears Series / Zombies and Trolls
by Jacob Allen

(Previously: a zombie attack has plagued the boys’ house and town and they are in the midst of trying to defeat the zombie invasion…)

“What are we going to do?” they asked.

“I don’t know. I’m tired. Mind if I sleep and you guys cover for me?”

They said, “No, Jacob, focus! We need to concentrate.”

I said, “Fine, but when this is over, when we get home, I’m taking an extra long nap.”

They said, “Fine, but we were supposed to have a sleepover, not fight zombies.”

I said, “It’s not my fault they picked us, right?”

“Oh no!”

“What? He’s coming?”

“Great! He’s coming closer. Run! Split up!”

Baron Samedi said, “I’ll get you!”

I said, “I’d like to see you try!”

He said, “Ok, then I will come closer.”

I then said to the zombie, “Never!”

He said, “So be it, human. Let our war begin again, in my place!”

I said, “I’m not scared.” He said, “Oh, really.” I said, “Yep.”

He said, “Okay, see what you think of this!” Zombie guts. AAAAWWWWW!

“Ha ha,” said the zombie.

Aaron came out with a bulldozer. I said, “Yeah, thanks for blocking me!”
“Sorry,” he said.
“No problem,” I said, “Take care of him. I’m going to change.” All I could find was zombie clothes, but it will do.

Aaron said, “You look like a zombie. Go put some make-up on and steal some zombie power and pretend you’re a zombie.”

“Okay,” I said, “But I don’t think it’s going to work.”

“It will,” he said. “Go! Keep going!” yelled Aaron.

“I am!” I said.
Jacob did a flip and then, SLASH! BAM! CLAM! SLAM! BOMB! “It didn’t work, Aaron, “ I said.

“I thought that it would. I’m sorry. I just wanted to help trying to show all of you I was capable of doing more,” he said.

“You young punk! Showing off is the thing that gets us killed. This is war!” I said. “Say, where is Cody?” I said.

He said, “I haven’t seen him in a long time. He’s spying on Baron Samedi, the zombie.”

“Okay, I see him!” I said. “Yeah, here we go!” I said.

“I’m better than you!” he said.

“Oh, yeah?” I said.

“Yeah!” he said.

“Take this!” I said.
SLASH! BAM! BOOM! BAM! SLAM! AAAAAWWWWW! “That’s payback for your stupid zombie guts!” I said.

“Whatever!” he said.

“Sorry,” I said, “not okay. I don’t like you at all!”

“I know,” he said.

“Now when you stop being mean to everyone, maybe they will.” I said.

“Maybe,” he said. I blasted my gun. Four guns, that is my energy bolt, electric gun air fire. “I use my zombie guts!” he said.

“My strength is full,” said Jacob.

“You are just like the fallen from the movie Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen,” I said. Well, that just blew him off! He got so mad he started throwing axes at us so we ran behind the big cat Tonka truck. I picked up one of the axes he threw and threw the ax at him. It hit his stitches and cut it open. “It isn’t that gross!” I’ve seen worse, like what, I really don’t want to talk about it. “Yuck! Where is Cody again?” I said. “I don’t know.” I said, “Cody, where are you?”

“SHHHHHHHHHHH…I’m over here!” he said.
“Ok,” I said, “Let’s make a map and follow the zombie and we will know where they are going, ok?”

“Complicated,” he said.

“Shut up!” I said.

“No!” he said.

“Knock it off!” I said. I’m nine years old. I’m allowed to say “shut up” except in front of my baby sister. She will copy and I will get in trouble. Great, just great. Here comes a zombie.”

Justin throws a pile of footballs and basketballs at him. “Ough, stupid!” the zombie said. “Shut up, glowboy!” Justin said.

“Justin,” I said, “the shot!” BAM! Right in his chest! “Pull the top! Squeeze!” I said. All greenish brownish blood! “Yuck! Do it where his spinal cord is, ok?” I said. “Go, Justin, oh yeah! Sweet!” I said. “Tie him up! What’s that black thing hanging out of his pocket? Get it!”

“NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!” he said. “Don’t! Please, no!” he said.

“Please, yes!” I said. “Take it! It looks like a map, an ancient treasure strength map. There will be a special power in this treasure chest. It starts from here to the swamp. It says: If you can beat the big power rock.” I said. Scary. I now said, “Now tell me about it!”

“Shut up!” he said.

“Fat tart!” I said.

“No!” said the zombie.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

